Activity the Key to Success   1 comment

Tonight I was on a team call for my network marketing business where one of our Million Dollar Club members reinforced 3 keys to success:

1. Showing up
2. Activity
3. Personal Development

Consistency is the driving force underlying each of those elements. I’ve danced that one a lot in my life. I learned early on how to look “busy” – but busy and productive are two different animals. “Busy” may get you past the boss’s scrutiny in a job, but when you’re in business for yourself – it definitely doesn’t yield results.

Consistent Productive Activity yields successful results.

One of the things I’ve had to let go of is a “retirement” frame of mind, where I work in spurts – but always watching for the reward. My consistency starts to dwindle when the results I’m looking for don’t come fast enough. I have to work past the “I’m going to put in this much effort to get my reward and then I’m done.” It’s that “then I’m going to be done” part that prevents me from reaching my target. It’s like running a race and slowing up because you can see the finish line – or on the other hand because it seems too distant.

The most successful people I know in business are the ones who are constantly in the “launching phase” of their business. In other words, they’re constantly in the development process of new exposures and expansion.

My Business Coach and Elder, Grandmother Pa’Ris’Ha has often challenged us with this: if we want to succeed we have to be willing to “increase our failure rate by 300%.”

There’s no “and then I’m going to quit” in that. The implication is that in order to succeed, we have to dramatically increase our productive activity and understand working the percentages. It’s all about consistent persistence. It’s about keeping on keeping on.

©2010 Deborah Adler. All rights reserved.

Bookmark and Share

One response to “Activity the Key to Success

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW…and WOW!!! Well said and absolutely true beyond belief. Most really have no idea what it takes to be very, very successful – many have short attention spans, need immediate gradification and look for short term rewards. You have totally hit the nail on the head here – NICE!!

Leave a comment